Basic Rules For Healthy Hair

If there’s something that can makes me want to give up on life it’s definitely matted hair. When the brush used to get stuck in my hair… seriously I did’t even bother, I would just leave it and cry my heart out in a fetal position and eventually cut my hair knots. Worst idea ever. But that was before when I didn’t care about my hair at all. It’s so easy to take care of your hair, no need to spend extra money on expensive products loaded of chemical components that can kill your hair fiber. Just by following simple rules and using the right natural products you can get beautiful hair.
(PS: Normally the first rule would be to avoid straightening your hair, but I am no hypocrite… I can’t live without my straightener ! Since I’m only including rules that i actually respect myself …here are other rules than that to limit the damages)

1) Brush your hair everyday 
It’s the basic rule of haircare, you’d be shocked by the amount of people who don’t brush their hair, or only do it before washing them. It’s important to do it EVERYDAY. Brushing hair stimulates microcirculation in the scalp and helps getting rid of impurities and dead cells while aerating your hair, which gives you more volume.  It softens and relaxes the scalp, facilitates the penetration of products and reinforces their action, it also improves irrigation and nutrition of the hair to its root.
So make sure to brush your hair during at least 1 minute morning and night.

2) Don’t wash your hair on a daily basis 
This is the most common mistake. Washing your hair everyday will attack your hair scalp and damage your hair. It will make your scalp re-grease even faster, because when feeling « attacked » it produces more sebum to protect itself. If you don’t want to have dry and dead-looking hair covered in dandruff, try to wash it 1 to maximum 2 times a week. If your hair is naturally greasy, use a dry shampoo between washes.

3) Avoid hair products with sulfates components 
It’s a tricky part since all conventional hair products contain sodium laureth sulfate (SLES), sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS) or ammonium lauryl sulfate (ALS). Check your shampoos components, you will find at least one of these. These chemicals act as a foaming agent and companies use them because they are cheap even though they can be strongly irritant to your skin, hair and eyes. They can rip your hair from its natural oil and completely dry it out.
Fortunately there are more and more sulfate-free shampoo (although the price is a little bit higher than regular ones but it’s worth the price). Try looking for alternative products such as organic sulfate free shampoo.

4) Moisturize your hair
Just like the skin, you have to hydrate your hair if you want it to look healthy. If your hair is naturally dry, you can afford moisturizing it with oil based products every day. If you have oily hair, try to avoid oils and use specific creams for your hair type instead. Before brushing your hair, make sure to use a serum. And before washing your hair, use a moisturizing mask and leave it for a couple of hours (if you have time) or 20 minutes.
My little secret for smooth and shiny hair: Oil Bath
Actually, it’s not really a secret, it’s a common practice in Morocco. You have to prepare a little mixture of vegetable oils, and put it on your hair. You hair has to be soaked in oil. Then cover it with a towel and live it the whole night. Wash your hair the next morning. Do it once a week. You can use any vegetable oil you like, but try to include olive oil or argan oil, they are the best oils for a hair oil batch. Here is my personal recipe:

Capture d’écran 2016-02-09 à 9.15.42 AM.png
You can find all these products here or here.


My selection of hair care essentials
Capture d’écran 2016-02-09 à 9.53.24 AM.pngHask Argan Oil shampoo and conditionner: This is the best shampoo I’ve ever tried. It’s alcohol and sulfate-free. It leaves my hair soft and silky and it gives a natural shine. You can buy it at your local Primark store or online on Ulta.
Coconut oil: I use it every night before brushing my hair. And I also use it to make my hair naturally shine. It’s a amazing oil for hair and for skin.
Shea butter: Since it’s too thick I use it as a mask with coconut, argan oil or castor oil.
Mise en Scene Perfect Repair Serum and Shine Care Serum: I know it doesn’t sound like but it’s actually a Korean brand. Even though I prefer using natural and organic oils, I heard a lot about this brand and especially these 2 products. And I don’t regret this purchase at all !

Leave a Reply

